First in first

With the end of first year, comes the end of possibly the biggest year of my life. Having worked as hard as I could, spent many, many nights up working on assignments and achieved 74% in what I thought was my worst module – I am filled with pride to be able to say that I finished the year with a first.

Despite the happiness I now feel, I know that I didn’t get here easily. I had a lot of ups and downs throughout the year which I know could have been fixed if I just relaxed and took a step back – hindisght really is a wonderful thing!

Here are the 5 things I would have told myself at the start of the year…

Don’t compare yourself
It’s easy to look at your grades and feel that they’re not as good as everyone else’s or that you’re falling behind. I did it time and time again. But now I know that there’s no point in getting yourself riled up about such futile things and there’s definitely no point letting it affect friendships. Everyone has different strengths and places where they shine. At the end of the day, you can only do the best that you can do and as long as you know that you’ve tried your hardest, that’s all that matters.

Miss a lecture every so often
I was so obsessed with attendance that I struggled to miss anything, much to the fascination of my friends. But it didn’t take long for me to realise that it won’t be the end of the world if you do miss something, if you’re too tired or just need a break. Obviously don’t overdo it though, try to keep your attendance above a pre-decided percentage.

Go to uni the day after a night out
That being said, make an effort to get to that 9am after you’ve been to a night out. You’ll thank yourself for it when you can crawl back into bed later and feel victorious that you made it into uni when no one else did. For me, a lecture/seminar/workshop the day after a night out was always a bit of a drag, but it made me want to work harder because I had actually made the effort to get up.

Take chances
Nothing will ever happen without you making it happen. You know yourself better than anyone and you know what you want; so go after it. Make the decisions that you know will make you happy and don’t let anything stand in your way.

Don’t stress
Everything will work itself out. At the end of the day you’ll have a far better experience and enjoy yourself more if you are taking each day as it comes.

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 22.34.18

Leave a Reply

